JavaScript is off. Please enable to view full site.

​Vietnamese Party chief congratulates China’s General Secretary Xi Jinping on re-election

​Vietnamese Party chief congratulates China’s General Secretary Xi Jinping on re-election

Thursday, October 26, 2017, 10:55 GMT+7

General Secretary of the Communist Party of Vietnam Nguyen Phu Trong has extended a congratulatory message to his Chinese counterpart Xi Jinping on his re-election as General Secretary of the Communist Party of China (CPC) Central Committee. 

Wednesday’s message praised the 19th CPC National Congress on its success and creative approach to the development of socialism with Chinese characteristics for the modern era.

Trong expressed his belief that under the leadership of the CPC Central Committee and General Secretary Xi, the Chinese Party and people will be able to meet the expectations set forth by the Congress in order to achieve its target of socialist modernization. 

Under Xi’s leadership the country will continue to build a prosperous, strong, democratic, civilized, harmonious, and beautiful society, the message said.

Trong also shared hopes that Vietnam and China will further develop their traditional friendship and comprehensive strategic cooperative partnership for the sake of the two peoples and for peace, stability, and prosperity in the region and the world.

On the same day, Politburo member and Chairman of the Party Central Committee’s Inspection Commission Tran Quoc Vuong extended his congratulations to Zhao Leji, member of the newly-elected CPC Politburo Standing Committee and Secretary of the CPC Central Committee’s Discipline Inspection Commission for the 19th tenure.

Seven members of the CPC Politburo Standing Committee were announced at the first plenary session on Wednesday.

The announcement came one day after the 19th National Congress of the Communist Party of China, which ran from October 18 to 24 in Beijing, concluded.

Xi was elected General Secretary of the CPC Central Committee for the second term, from 2017 to 2022.

The six other members of the Xi-led CPC Politburo Standing Committee include Li Keqiang, Li Zhanshu, Wang Yang, Wang Huning, Zhao Leji, and Han Zheng.

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter to get the latest news about Vietnam!

Tuoi Tre News

Read more




‘Taste of Australia’ gala dinner held in Ho Chi Minh City after 2-year hiatus

Taste of Australia Gala Reception has returned to the Park Hyatt Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City's District 1 after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic

Vietnamese woman gives unconditional love to hundreds of adopted children

Despite her own immense hardship, she has taken in and cared for hundreds of orphans over the past three decades.

Latest news