JavaScript is off. Please enable to view full site.

Academic program offers 16 fellowships to study about science and technology

Academic program offers 16 fellowships to study about science and technology

Sunday, December 14, 2014, 14:30 GMT+7

The 2015 ASEAN – US Science and Technology Fellows Program offers 16 fellowships to applicants of five ASEAN countries, allowing them to study in the US during 12 months, the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) announced on its website on December 5.

The program aims to advance regional cooperation on ASEAN strategic priorities, strengthen science-based policy making throughout targeted national government ministries and/or bodies, and empower and build the capacity of scientists in ASEAN to take a more prominent role in their respective country’s efforts to integrate into the ASEAN Community.

It is expected to provide opportunities for early-career scientists who are citizens and residents of five ASEAN member countries including Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam, Philippines, and Thailand to contribute their knowledge and analytical skills to their national governments.

The year-long program will include participation in training workshops as well as offering opportunities to attend and contribute to relevant regional science and technology events.

Fellows will be hosted by entities that support technical work aligned with several common ASEAN and U.S. science and technology priority areas including biodiversity, energy security, and fisheries and coastal management.

Up to 16 fellowships with a stipend of $1,500 per month for the 12 months of the fellowship period will be granted to applicants with a Master’s degree and with at least five years of professional experience who meet the criteria of the program.  

People with a Ph.D. degree are strongly preferred and encouraged to apply. Applicants should be less than 45 years of age as of January 18, 2015.

The application deadline is 5:00 pm January 18, 2015 and should be submitted to The result will be announced on March 1 and the program will be launched on May 1 next year.

ASEAN stands for Association of Southeast Asian Nations that is comprised of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, and Vietnam.

The 2015 ASEAN – US Science and Technology Fellows Program was established in 2014 for the first time by ASEAN’s Committee on Science and Technology, with the support of USAID and U.S. Mission to ASEAN (USASEAN).

Further information can be found at

tuoi tre news


Read more




‘Taste of Australia’ gala dinner held in Ho Chi Minh City after 2-year hiatus

Taste of Australia Gala Reception has returned to the Park Hyatt Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City's District 1 after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic

Vietnamese woman gives unconditional love to hundreds of adopted children

Despite her own immense hardship, she has taken in and cared for hundreds of orphans over the past three decades.

Latest news